RESOLUTION

PLEDGING SUPPORT FOR THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE CAPTAIN JOHN SMITH CHESAPEAKE NATIONAL HISTORIC TRAIL

WHEREAS, the Sussex County Council desires to commemorate the 400th Anniversary of the English settlement of America and Captain John Smith's monumental voyages of exploration in the Chesapeake Bay; and

WHEREAS, at the time of Captain Smith's arrival, Sussex County was home to a substantial population of Native Americans whose knowledge and trade goods were essential to the survival of the English colonists; and

WHEREAS, due to the leadership of the Chesapeake Bay Congressional Delegation, the U.S. Congress and the President of the United States passed legislation authorizing the National Park Service to study the feasibility of establishing a Captain John Smith Chesapeake National Historic Trail as part of the Fiscal Year 2006 Interior, Environment and Related Agencies Appropriations Act; and

WHEREAS, due to the leadership of Senators Biden, Carper, Sarbanes, Warner, Mikulski, and Allen, Bill S.2568 was introduced in the Senate to establish the Captain John Smith Chesapeake National Historic Trail as a unit of the National Trail System; and

WHEREAS, on account of leadership of the Chesapeake Bay Congressional Delegation, a companion Bill to S.2568 is to be introduced to the House; and

WHEREAS, the Captain John Smith Chesapeake National Historic Trall would facilitate public understanding of the significance of the Chesapeake Bay as an ecological and cultural resource; and

WHEREAS, the Captain John Smith Chesapeake National Historic Trail would provide an excellent educational opportunity to the public while promoting heritage tourism of the Bay region; and

WHEREAS, the Sussex County Council urges the Congress to pass the legislation in time for the 400th Anniversary;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Sussex County Council pledges its support for the establishment of the Captain John Smith Chesapeake National Historic Trail; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a certified copy of this Resolution shall be forwarded to United States Senator Joseph R. Biden, Jr., United States Senator Thomas R. Carper, United States Congressman Michael N. Castle, Governor of the State of Delaware Ruth Ann Minner, and the Director of the National Park Service.

Q Robin A. Griffith Clerk of the Coupcil

Dated: June 20, 2006