Sussex County Council selects officers, appoints legal staff for 2013

Georgetown, Del., Jan. 8, 2013: Sussex County Council will keep its leadership in place for another year.

County Council, at its Tuesday, Jan. 8, 2013, meeting, selected Councilman Michael H. Vincent of Seaford as president for the third year in a row. Meantime, Council re-elected Councilman Samuel R. Wilson Jr. of Georgetown to remain as vice president for another year. The appointments followed the swearing in ceremony for Council members Vincent, Wilson, and Joan R. Deaver, all of whom were re-elected in November 2012 to new four-year terms that began Tuesday.

It is customary for council at the first meeting of each year to reorganize, electing its officers and appointing legal staff. As Council president, Mr. Vincent will continue to preside over all council meetings in 2013, with Mr. Wilson substituting as the presiding officer anytime Mr. Vincent is unable to attend.

Council also approved J. Everett Moore Jr. to re-appointment as County Attorney. Mr. Moore serves at the pleasure of the County Council as the elected body’s chief counsel.

Meantime, the law firms of Moore & Rutt and Griffin & Hackett were also appointed to represent the Board of Adjustment and Planning & Zoning Commission respectively, with staff from those firms serving as assistant county attorneys.