Board of Adjustment

The Sussex County Board of Adjustment is a five-member panel, as stipulated by 9 Del. Code Chapter 69, appointed by the Sussex County Council to hear requests for variances or special use exceptions to the County Code. Members are appointed for three-year terms.

The board functions as a quasi-judicial body, hearing individual cases brought before it. The Board of Adjustment meets twice a month in open session.

Comments and correspondence intended for the board or its members should be entered into the record during Board of Adjustment public hearings, sent by mail in care of the Planning & Zoning Office, PO Box 417, Georgetown, DE 19947, or submitted electronically here.

Agendas and Minutes


Name Dale A. Callaway
Address PO Box 321
Milton, DE 19968
Council District 3
Year Appointed 1992
Current Term Ends 2019

Name Ellen M. Magee
Address 34857 Lighthouse Road
Selbyville, DE 19975
Council District 5
Year Appointed 2017
Current Term Ends 2019

Name John M. Mills, Chairman
Address 14443 Megan Way
Laurel, DE 19956
Council District 1
Year Appointed 1992
Current Term Ends 2019

Name John Williamson
Address 34120 Hiawatha Blvd.
Dagsboro, DE 19939
Council District 4
Year Appointed 2019
Current Term Ends 2020

Name E. Brent Workman
Address 15376 Adams Rd
Bridgeville, DE 19933
Council District 2
Year Appointed 2002
Current Term Ends 2021