Utility Permits

All County government facilities are closed to public access until further notice.

For customers who need to submit physical copies of plans and permits, a drop-off box is available in the County Administrative Offices building lobby, 2 The Circle, Georgetown. Drop-offs will be received 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. For those individuals dropping off documents, all submissions shall include an intake form. Please fill out, print, and include with your submission when dropping off documents.

For more information, please call (302) 855-7718.

For information on how other County business is being handled, please see Sussex County Operations Coronavirus Updates.

The Utility Permits Division’s primary responsibilities relate to the sewer and water districts. It creates new customer accounts and maintains front footage and equivalent dwelling assessments for all users in the districts. Furthermore, it also monitors changes in the sewer districts to assure that assessments are current. The Division issues permits and schedules inspections for all sewer and water connections in those districts.

The Utility Permits Division also collects certain one-time fees. Other responsibilities of the Division include preparing assessments for street lighting districts, licensing septic haulers and plumbers, issuing permits for holding tank discharges, and enforcing illegal hook-ups and other sewer related violations.


Contact Information
Manager Katrina Mears
Address Sussex County Administrative Office Building
3rd Floor, Room 324
2 The Circle, P.O. Box 589
Georgetown, DE 19947
Phone (302) 855-7719
Fax (302) 853-5881