First-responders, medical professionals recognized during annual EMS awards banquet

[Blades, DE - April 16, 2018] Sussex County first-responders and healthcare professionals were recently recognized during the annual Sussex County Emergency Services banquet hosted by the Blades Fire Company.

The annual banquet, sponsored by the Sussex County Paramedic Association, Sussex County Volunteer Ambulance Association, and Sussex County EMS, is held each year to celebrate the EMS and medical community and recognize peers for their life-saving efforts in the previous year. Jimmy Hoppa of WBOC-TV 16 served as master of ceremonies for this year’s event, which was held on Saturday, April 7.

The following awards were presented:

Stephanie Callaway scholarships presented by the Sussex County Paramedic Association

  • High school recipient: Collin Donaway (future Delaware Technical Community College paramedic student)
  • Sussex County Resident Adult recipient:  Brandon Givens (Chesapeake College paramedic student)

Excellence awards presented by Sussex County EMS

  • EMS Nurse: Kendyl Davidson, Beebe Healthcare, Lewes
  • EMS Physician of the Year: Dr. Mackenzie Hay, Nanticoke Memorial Hospital, Seaford
  • Emergency Communications Specialist of the Year: Dave Perrine, Sussex County Emergency Operations Center
  • EMT of the Year (East District): Russell White, Rehoboth Beach Volunteer Fire Company
  • EMT of the Year (West District): Matt Heck (Georgetown EMS/American Legion Post 8)
  • Administrative Excellence: Rob Mauch, SCEMS
  • Field Training Officer of the Year: Wayne Jester, SCEMS
  • District Supervisor of the Year: Russell Hooper, SCEMS
  • Paramedic of the Year: Chaz Tennermann, SCEMS

Recognition awards presented by Sussex County Volunteer Ambulance Association

  • Cliff Lee Award: Vicki Mast, Bridgeville Volunteer Fire Company
  • EMT of the Year: Larry Whaley, Seaford Volunteer Fire Department
  • SCVAA Paramedic of the Year: Greg Bell, SCEMS
  • EMS Supervisor of the Year: John Watson, Millville Volunteer Fire Company
  • Nurse of the Year: Dawn Ryan, Nanticoke Memorial Hospital, Seaford
  • Police Officer Appreciation Award: Frankie Bradley, Seaford Police

SCEMS Director’s “Caring People” Award

These awards were handed out following a review of a call in Ocean View in which first-responders successfully resuscitated a 42-year-old woman who was suffering from cardiac arrest. The patient has since gone on to enjoy a full recovery.

  • Dispatcher: Ryan Fletcher, Sussex County EOC
  • EMTs: Keith Baker and Wally Evans, Millville Volunteer Fire Company
  • Paramedics: Jordan Dattoli and Amanda McCloskey, SCEMS

To learn more about and to view pictures from the event, please visit


Media Contact

Glenn Marshall, EMS spokesman
(302) 854-5255