Sussex County swears in new members, selects officers and legal staff for 2017

Georgetown, Del., Jan 3., 2017: New year, new faces for Sussex County.

Winners of the November general election took office on Tuesday, Jan. 3, 2017, during a swearing-in ceremony held in County Council chambers on The Circle in Georgetown. Irwin G. Burton III of Lewes was sworn in as the new 3rd district Council member, replacing the retiring Joan R. Deaver. Also sworn in was newly elected Sussex County Clerk of the Peace Norman A. ‘Jay’ Jones Jr., replacing John F. Brady, who did not seek re-election.

Some familiar faces, though, are returning for new terms in County government. County Councilmen Michael H. Vincent of Seaford and Samuel R. Wilson Jr. of Georgetown, both of whom won re-election, took their oaths of office, as well. Following the swearing-in ceremony, County Council selected officers for the new year, returning Mr. Vincent to another year as president, while choosing Councilman George B. Cole of Ocean View as vice president.

It is customary for council at the first meeting of each year to elect officers and appointing legal staff. As Council president, Mr. Vincent will continue to preside over all council meetings in 2017, with Mr. Cole substituting as the presiding officer anytime Mr. Vincent is unable to attend.

Council also approved J. Everett Moore Jr. to re-appointment as County Attorney. Mr. Moore serves at the pleasure of the County Council as the elected body’s chief counsel. Meantime, staff from the Moore & Rutt and Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze law firms will represent the Board of Adjustment and Planning & Zoning Commission respectively as assistant county attorneys.


Media Contact

Chip Guy, Communications Director
(302) 854-5000