Sussex County swears in new members, selects officers and legal staff for 2021

Georgetown, Del., Jan 5, 2021: Sussex County has a new set of faces and some familiar leadership for the New Year ahead.

November election winners took office on Tuesday, Jan. 5, 2021, during a swearing-in ceremony held in County Council chambers on The Circle in Georgetown. Cynthia C. Green of Greenwood was sworn in as the new 2nd district Council member, leaving her post as Register of Wills to replace retiring member Samuel R. Wilson Jr., and Mark G. Schaeffer of Lewes was sworn in to the 3rd district seat, replacing one-term member Irwin G. Burton III. Returning Councilman Michael H. Vincent, as well as Clerk of the Peace Norman A. ‘Jay’ Jones, also took their oaths of office to begin new four-year terms.

Following the swearing-in ceremony, County Council selected officers for 2021, naming Councilman Vincent of Seaford to another year as president, while choosing Councilman John L. Rieley of Millsboro as vice president.

It is customary for council at the first meeting of each year to elect officers and appoint legal staff. As Council president, Mr. Vincent will continue to preside over all council meetings in 2021, with Mr. Rieley substituting as the presiding officer anytime Mr. Vincent is unable to attend.

Council also approved J. Everett Moore Jr. to re-appointment as County Attorney. Mr. Moore serves at the pleasure of the County Council as the elected body’s chief counsel. Meantime, staff from the Moore & Rutt and Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze law firms will represent the Board of Adjustment and Planning & Zoning Commission respectively as assistant county attorneys.


Media Contact

Chip Guy, Communications Director
(302) 854-5000